In which I contemplate the project

A month ago I sat at my desk at work and knew I was going to get fired. Five minutes later, I learned that I had a month left in what may have been the cheeriest talk about being laid off. Maybe it’s my quarter life crisis or perhaps the opportunity to have a paid vacation, but I’m not in a rush to get back into an office.

I’ve spent the last three weeks discussing what I intend to do, but still hadn’t taken the first crucial step: purchasing Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Yesterday in the spirit of the great weather and good company, I handed over my card to the Strand and walked out with my very own copy of Julia’s book. Attached to the outside is a band promoting the Meryl Streep/Amy Adams movie, Julie and Julia. I opened the book on the train ride home and wondered what it was that compelled Julie Powell to cook through this masterpiece and if I was crazy.

What is lobster thermidor without the lobster? Tofu? I never even had lobster during my time as a meat-eater. My birthday next month will mark the point at which I will have spent more of my life as a vegetarian than a meat-eater. And yet, I’m certain that with enough research and time spent in Chinatown where I’ve seen a mock version of everything, I will understand what it is to veganize the book. I imagine I will attempt some of the easier vegetable dishes before moving on to more ambitious parts of the project. Right now, I don’t have a time frame. I am learning to embrace the process, whether it be my impending unemployment or mastering the fine art of seitan (which I prefer to call say-tan in honor of its difficult nature).

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In which I contemplate the project

  1. M.S. Blackstone says:

    Can’t wait to read more!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

