Trash-talk

I forgot about the project. I’m sorry. I was only cooking out of necessity and enjoyed trips to the store with a nothing more than an idea of beets and a rueben sandwich. I stopped thinking about what I should cook next. My thoughts were consumed with how to get a rebbe that I have been working for to give up a pair of socks (because who needs to pack 17 pairs of socks?) and the apples I got during dessert-fest lay forgotten. I set them out in a big red bowl on our yellow kitchen table. The six pounds of Granny Smith apples exuded glory and promise to an invisible audience. They looked great and I refused to eat a single one under the guise of an apple charlotte in my future.

The white bread I bought was in the pantry at first. Then the fridge. And now the freezer.

I didn’t cook the apple charlotte. I tossed a few of the apples in the trash because they were rotting by Monday.

It turned out to be an expensive failed venture and for once, I didn’t care. Who needs to bake when there are soups to be made! Wonderful, delicious, hot, creamy, hearty soups! Of course I didn’t choose a hearty soup and went with the basic Aïgo Bouïdo, Garlic Soup. This wasn’t tough to veganize, but I balked at the addition of poached eggs or any type of egg in the variation recipes. I added some Ener-g Egg Replacer and cornstarch to thicken the soup. I imagine that the addition of the eggs in the original would lead it towards the consistency of a hot and sour soup that you might get at a Chinese restaurant. Feel free to add more eggs or starch to get a thicker soup.

  • 1 separated head of garlic (about 16 cloves whole, unpeeled)

Drop the garlic into a small pot of boiling water for approximately 30 seconds. Drain, run cold water over them, and peel.

  • 2 quarts water
  • 2 tsp salt
  • Pinch of pepper
  • 2 cloves
  • 1/4 tsp sage
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 bay leaf
  • 4 parsley sprigs
  • 3 Tb olive oil

Bring the 2 quarts of water to a boil. Add the peeled garlic and other ingredients to the saucepan. Boil slowly for 30 minutes. Feel free to correct the seasoning at this point.

  • 4 Ener-g Egg Replacer Eggs
  • 2 Tb corn starch

In a cup or small bowl, mix the Ener-g Egg Replacer with water, per box instructions, add the corn starch and water as needed (not more than a tablespoon should be needed). Mix thoroughly. [This next order of events is up to you. Simply keep in mind that the garlic needs to be strained and the juice pressed out of it as you do so. If it’s easier to do that and then add the starch/egg or add the starch/egg and then strain, do that. I am writing what I did.] Strain the soup through a sieve, pressing the juice of the garlic as you do so. Add 2-3 spoonfuls of hot strained soup to the egg/starch mixture. Mix and then slowly add this to the rest of the soup, stirring with a whisk constantly. Be careful that the starches are all dissolved as cornstarch will turn into lumps if it isn’t dissolved before hand.

Serve immediately. I recommend a some toasted bread with Earth Balance spread on it. If you are sick and really want to clear out your sinuses, add some Sriracha (or your hot sauce of choice).

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trash-talk

  1. Jessie says:

    …looks like I might have a new soup for cold and flu season 🙂

Leave a Reply

