Vendor-Eve

I meant to update last night, as I thought it would have more of an effect to say that it is the eve before we go to Columbus to meet our vendors. I vacillate between wanting to not have a job so that planning could be full time, but I also appreciate how my job has prepared me for this. I’ve had a few comments exclaiming how organized I am – and I have to thank the crazy organization system I have at work. Amid the crazy things that happen out of a certain person’s office, I manage to scramble in some time glancing at wedding blogs, adding items to Pinterest, and updating my GoogleDocs spreadsheet.

That said – I can’t wait to meet the vendors. The restaurant I originally contacted to cater, fell off the map this year as they were going through a reopening with a new concept. I had written them off, but felt that I should still give them a chance. Of course they got in touch again at the last minute and we’re going to meet with them. I’m excited to see what a local, organic restaurant can provide for us (that used be a vegan restaurant!), and also to see what a caterer can provide.

Most importantly, we are meeting with a baker. She sent over a list of seemingly unlimited flavor options and asked us to pick 6. Six! We’re going to get them in cupcake form to try them – and I hope that she means that we each get 6 to eat. I’d like to start my day eating half of a dozen cupcakes, but understand that it may not seem reasonable to everyone else – most importantly, which would be Justin having to handle me on an intense sugar high, followed by passing out before we even got to the photographer appointment.

The work-life balance is always a struggle, especially once wedding planning is thrown into the mix. While there are days when I miss the ease of planning while unemployed, I know that the issues I have now are worth it. And even though I am looking forward to the wedding and getting married – I can’t wait to not have to worry about whether someone provides napkins with their catering service.

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Dinner Talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vendor-Eve

  1. There is evidently a bunch to know about this. I think you made various nice points in features also.

Leave a Reply

