Quintessential New York Weekend

After a few years of living in New York, I’m still amazed that I get to live here. I’m not sure if I want to spend my life here, but I do know that this is a truly special place to live. I was especially aware of it this weekend – which might be due to the beautiful weather.

My weekend was full of the usual: farmer’s market and peaches. Lots and lots of peaches. Although it ended up not being enough to reach my canning goal for the weekend (24 jars). Saturday mornings always start with a walk to the farmer’s market at Grand Army Plaza. The best part of the walk is entering the park by walking underneath the Soldier and Sailor’s arch. The view below is on the walk back home from the market. At the other end of the park is the Bailey Fountain.

Grand Army Plaza

Since my main objective has been making the jam recently, I haven’t been doing a great job of planning out which vegetables to get. I’ve become a peach jam expert – and have even started to keep a plate in the freezer all week in preparation of future jam testing. It’s the point in the season where they aren’t quite ripe, so I finally had to give in and boil them first in order to peal them. For 5lbs of peaches, this took quite a bit of time. And yet I think there is something therapeutic in canning this much jam just to give it away. I feel comfort in knowing that there is a project that I can work on – and that will hopefully our friends and family a give a glimpse into our life

Farmer's Market

While we didn’t do anything exciting, it ended up being a perfect New York weekend – a trip to MoMA, having some local eats, seeing a friend play a set, and laying out in Prospect Park. In short, a weekend that I’m sure will blend in with the others, but for a few days has kept me in love with the city.

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Canning, Dinner Talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

