A special meal

The internet is atwitter today as it would have been Julia’s 100th birthday. One of my favorite stores, Fish’s Eddy, is hosting a give away for some Julia-inspired items (I’m not linking to it, as I’m desperately selfish and would love to win this). From what I spied on their site, it looks like it includes a pastry blender. They asked entrants to send a note explaining their favorite recipe, and why. I sat for a few minutes this morning and thought about my favorite recipe. I went back to the first recipe I attempted – cassoulet. With the liquid smoke, fake meat, and a relatively easy process, it was the perfect start to a cooking project.

Julia inspired me to take something on at a time when I felt depressed and without purpose. TheKitchn ran a short article (one of several about her today) summarizing some of their favorite Julia Child quotes. My personal favorite one made the list, and really summarizes how I try to feel when I cook – “Learn how to cook – try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun.”

So tonight, in honor of Julia – I was fearless and attempted to make a real omelette. I spent some time last night rereading the recipe, read some blogs describing their attempts at omelettes, and even watched video (over and over) of Julia making one. By the time I got home from work, I felt really prepared.

Here is what I learned. The essential jerking motion that frees the eggs and lets you to roll the omelette requires a really great non-stick pan. And ours has seen better days. I quickly improvised, grabbed a rubber spatula and carefully pushed at the edges of the omelette, making sure that it wasn’t sticking. As it started to turn into a more of a custard I added a little bit of shredded cheese, and went about rolling it with the spatula. It might not have been the prettiest omelette, but I managed to get it into a decent shape and it tasted great. Dinner was served quickly, with a side of vegetarian sausages and some buttered bread.

 

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Dinner Talk, Mock Meat, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A special meal

  1. Susan says:

    Oh man, I’m not going to say I’m not a little jealous about the Fishs Eddy thing (well, if you win). I’ve never actually used a recipe when trying to make an omelette. Then again, my omelettes come out pretty inconsistent. Maybe there’s something to that…

    • ania says:

      Well you should feel free to enter! It’s on their Facebook page and looks pretty awesome. I highly recommend checking out the omelette instructions (even just watching video of her making one) – it was super helpful to have an idea of what one *should* be doing.

Leave a Reply

