Holiday Cooking

It started. A few weeks ago the latest copy of VegNews magazine arrived – the infamous holiday issue with pages and pages of Thanksgiving recipes. Then Pinterest turned into a veritable holiday spread. All of the food blogs are talking about sweet potatoes and pies. I can’t get enough of it.

Unfortunately on Thanksgiving Day we’ll be traipsing around Chichen Itza while on our honeymoon. The day after is my birthday and I hope to spend it at the swim up bar or just with my Kindle. And maybe with some cake. The point being that since we’ll be so far away from our family, our Thanksgiving dinner will be happening a week after the official day. We have a family dinner planned at my brother’s house and I’m already overwhelmed with the options of what to make.

Of course the ‘chicken’ cutlets will be on the menu — but aside from that, I’m at a loss. I saw VegNews‘ recipe for a Pumpkin Parsnip Lasagna in the holiday issue and feel enthralled. In a season that is all about the food, how do you decide what makes the menu? What about the things that you cut from it – do you relegate those to other occasions just so that you can still enjoy them?

Vegan Pumpkin Parsnip Lasagna

Vegan Pumpkin Parsnip Lasagna

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dinner Talk, Tarts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Cooking

  1. Susan says:

    Ooh Chichen Itza! That should be really fun to go to in the fall/winter. I went in the summer once and nearly died. I even ate a snow cone from a street cart despite my traveling companions warning me about drinking the water, because I couldn’t take the heat. And then I didn’t get sick, so it all worked out. Good story.

    • ania says:

      haha – great story! i think late november will be an ideal weather-time, 80’s, sunny. hopefully no heat stroke or misadventures with the water!

  2. sowninpeace says:

    My sister in law went to c. itza. a few years back have never been myself and i hope you have a great time 🙂 as for what makes the menu question ….i have held several family occcations both in this home and on the farm where we used to live. I find it’s easier if you stick to a theme what do you want the house to look like the day of …rustic country christmas, elagent, perfect tree, night off, cultureal we do jamican sometimes for our son… etc. then i search for seasonal food items with that theme like rustic roasted breads or roasted root dishes…elegant would be plates of swirled creamed soups – food finds it way into the menu easier if you have a basic idea of what you want hope your dinner goes well 🙂

    • ania says:

      The theme sounds great – I think I struggle because we’re doing mostly a potluck, but maybe I could toss out the idea of a theme. Instead our theme is “delicious things we want to try” — of which there are too many to really pare down 😉
      Maybe in the next year or so when we are finally ready to host a family dinner like that, then I’ll be able to institute the themed menu plan.

Leave a Reply

