An extra hour for baking

On Sunday I woke up full of energy. Maybe it was the extra hour of sleep I had gotten (theoretically), but I was still up by 730am – and I was ready to cook. I used the recipe from Smitten Kitchen for Buttermilk Chive biscuits, only without the buttermilk or the chives. It was the first recipe for drop biscuits that I could easily find, so I adapted as I went along. Within 30 minutes I had breakfast ready, complete with fresh biscuits.

Forming the biscuits – a little crudely!

In order to veganize these, substitute with Earth Balance where appropriate. For the buttermilk, use soy milk with 2 tablespoons of vinegar (I prefer apple cider) in it. Add the vinegar to the soy milk and let sit for a few minutes before adding it to the dough.

 

 

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An extra hour for baking

  1. cquek says:

    Thanks for sharing, it’s so good to see some different eating options cropping up around

Leave a Reply

