Food, interrupted

It’s nearly impossible to write about food when you’re stuck at home with a stomach virus. I spent the past two days living in bed, followed by stints on the couch. I’ve eaten three cans of Amy’s No-Chicken Noodle Soup and five french fries in that time. My last meal was a can of vegetable soup, which I think stayed in my stomach without moving for over twelve hours.

The Diet of the Sick - seriously, this stuff is amazing.

The Diet of the Sick – seriously, this stuff is amazing.

 

Too much information? Maybe. But this is where my suffering has left me. I sat at home on Tuesday, looking at some unfinished posts and had no desire to think about food or cooking. On Saturday we had our make-up Thanksgiving dinner, which was wonderful. I wanted to write about the great chocolate coconut pecan tart that I made, but instead I complained about my stomach cramping. Or what about the eight egg frittata I made earlier in the week? Zero interest. Although, let me share with you that there is a reason why you should use egg whites and whole eggs – it will give your frittata some lift and make it less dense.

I have not fallen off the face of the earth. I am simply slowly recovering from an illness which has me missing the better parts of life. I promise to be back in full force this weekend, with lots of photos hopefully. Tomorrow night we are being treated to one of my favorite vegan restaurants in NYC, Blossom. As all vegetarians and vegans know, it is often overwhelming to go to a restaurant where every item is a potential dinner selection and now just being relegated to one or two items that you can partake in. I look forward to the difficult decision awaiting me tomorrow night – and hope that my stomach cooperates enough so that I can fully enjoy it!

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Dinner Talk, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food, interrupted

  1. sowninpeace says:

    ok if you still feel gross …i suggest investing in some ginger oil or root…smelling it helps revieal nausea and remove toxins and the oil is anti viral and anti bac, as is peppermint oil…I rub peppermint oil mixed in coconut oil in my pantry on my sons feet to chill him out if he’s sick …I also suggest when you feel better…it can be a lil strong if not well…to get thieves oil (check out young living oil.com) its the spice combo that fought the plauges and kills things like molds virus etc…works AMAZINGLY WELL, to keep the sickies out.

  2. Pingback: Vegan Restaurant | Whole Food Diets

  3. lose Weight says:

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired! Extremely helpful information particularly the ultimate part 🙂 I deal with such information much. I used to be looking for this certain information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

