Don’t forget the egg whites!

I have some food catching up to do. It did take a few days longer than I would have liked, but I made a full recovery from my illness last week. The downside was that I barely got any cooking done all of last week, and even struggled to motivate over the weekend. After a week of laying in bed watching Netflix, I think I came down with a small case of cabin fever and mainly wanted to get out and do some stuff. We spent the weekend at the Brooklyn Museum and babysitting our nephew.

I can’t believe it has been over two weeks since we got back from Mexico. I know I have complained about the chore of cooking through our CSA box before, but the one thing I have not really struggled with has been how to cook the eggs. That is until we got back from Mexico and suddenly had two dozen eggs. Could I have spent the entire weekend baking delicacies? Maybe – but I am still testing the water with baking, so I decided to make a frittata. Without consulting any recipes.

I do not recommend you do this. Or if you do, just remember that there is a reason why you should use eggs along with egg whites. Egg whites are key to making your frittata light and fluffy.

The finished Product

The finished Product

The basic gist of what I did was to sautee three leeks in a cast iron skillet, and then pour over that eight eggs that I had beaten. The eggs were seasoned a little with Herbamare and I topped the whole thing with a few thin slices of cheese. After a minute or two on the stovetop, I moved it into the oven at 350 degrees and let it cook until it was golden brown on the top.

The cross-section shows how dense it actually ended up being.

The cross-section shows how dense it actually ended up being.

IMG_1980

Did the frittata taste great? Yes. Could it have been better? Of course! But it was a quick way for me to use half of the eggs in the fridge and we were able to eat the frittata over the next few meals. I have a feeling that after the new year I’ll have to return to a more vegan diet. While I’m not eating that much dairy at this point, I feel that I could benefit from some more vegan meals, and specifically from less eggs in my diet. Before I go down that path, I might have to do a blazing sprint through some non-vegan baking so that I can actually see what some of these desserts are supposed to taste like.

About Ania K

Writing, cooking, and eating in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t forget the egg whites!

  1. Tammy says:

    mmmm. I love leeks. We had them in our stir fry tonight. They are delicious in eggs.

  2. Jay Sparrow says:

    You are an amazing chef!!!
    You’ve come so far in such short time!
    Thats awesome.
    Great stuff. Well done.

Leave a comment